Skip to content ↓

Trust Sports Awards 2018

Well done to all the athletes and sports teams from across our Trust schools who had their talents and achievements recognised at this year's Trust Sports Awards,  which were organised and hosted by the Trust's Director of Sport, Kirstie Smith.

Hundreds of students, parents and teachers from across the ten Trust schools attended the ceremony, held at the Corby Cube, in which students from both the primary and secondary phases were commended for their achievements.

Retired Commonwealth Games Gold medallist and Olympic gymnast, Craig Heap, shared his inspirational story and led a competition to see whether Mr Hall from Compass Primary Academy or Mr Haywood from Kettering Science Academy, could do the longest handstand! 

The other sporting guest was hooker, Mike Haywood, from Northampton Saints, who took part in a Question and Answer session with the students.  

Craig and Mike handed out over 20 awards to students throughout the evening. All nominees were invited onto the stage whilst the audience were told about their sporting achievements. Each received a certificate for their hard work and success.

Kirstie Smith said: ‘This is a very special evening to celebrate the sporting achievements of our students from across our Trust family of schools. The awards this year have been purposely timed to take place during National School Sport Week (NSSW), when our schools have been celebrating the role of play and sport in education.

‘We at Brooke Weston Trust firmly believe that outstanding Physical Education has a direct impact on whole school improvement, through raising aspiration, and ultimately achievement, for our learners. Unlike any other subject in the curriculum, Physical Education has a unique role in promoting core life values; this is essential to develop our young people’s physical literacy, educating them on leading a healthy, active lifestyle.

‘Every young person within our Trust has the right to achieve their potential in PE. To ensure we reach this goal we need to collectively share our focus, engage and develop all students, from our less active to our gifted and talented. To achieve this, we need to provide them with opportunities that will cater for their individual sporting and academic needs.

‘The Director of Sport Role/Sport Strategy aims to develop a unity that ensures the Brooke Weston Trust is recognised as outstanding for Sport and Physical Education across all of our schools.  This can only be achieved by having a unified approach - meaning we can drive progress forward more effectively, from developing outstanding practice, to creating inter-school events and wider resource development that would ensure every school is getting the best provision possible. I know that uniting the Trust’s Sport and Physical Education departments and  PE coordinators has ensured that we are achieving so much more together.

‘It is wonderful to hear about the sporting achievements across our student body during this Sports Awards evening. We are so fortunate to have so many talented students who are encouraged to explore and excel at sport. I hope that everyone had an enjoyable evening celebrating the best in Brooke Weston Trust Sports.

‘Thanks to our guests, Principals, teacher and parents for supporting these awards and to all our students for their amazing sporting efforts this year.’

During the evening there were messages of support and congratulations from sports stars including former KSA student Sean Dyche, who is now Burnley FC Manager, England rugby player Ben Youngs and Team GB swimmer Hannah Miley.

Dancers from Corby Business Academy and Thomas Clarkson Academy performed a range of routines and the Trust Sports Ambassadors assisted by helping students and parents to find their seats and provided support to the awards organisation team.

Thank you to all those involved who made the evening a great success.

To see pictures from the night click here.


Winners of the awards are as follows:

BWT Performer of the Year (primary)
Ksenja Gnennaja (Beanfield)
Toby Currall (Compass)
Finlay Greenfield (Gretton)
Ben Hunter (Oakley Vale)
Jack Clarke (Peckover)

BWT Performer of the Year (secondary)
Ellie Ritchie (BWA)
Niamh Connor (CBA)
Lexi Wilkinson (CTS)
Lucas Rogers (KSA)
Seth Briggs-Williams (TCA)

BWT Individual Achievement Award (primary)
Bradley Dorks (Beanfield)
Edward Savin (Compass)
Callum Morris (Gretton)
Sullivan Argyle (Oakley Vale)
Ola Mlynek (Peckover)

BWT Individual Achievement Award (secondary)
Jess Newton (BWA)
Nikita Ritchie (CBA)
Grace McClafferty (CTS)
Devon Abrahams (KSA)
Lucas Edwards (TCA)

BWT Outstanding Contribution to Leadership Award (primary)
Beanfield Sports Crew (Beanfield)
Abbie Ewen (Compass)
Gretton Sports Crew (Gretton)
Prithvi Shrama (Oakley Vale)
Charlie Hopkins (Peckover)

BWT Outstanding Contribution to Leadership Award (secondary)
Hanna Mazur (BWA)
Natasha Gillan (CBA)
Luke Scott (CTS)
Beth Allan (KSA)
Connor Loughlin (TCA)


BWT U14 Elite Netball Champions
Corby Business Academy

BWT U14 Elite Rugby Champions
Brooke Weston Academy

BWT Primary Tag Rugby Champions
Compass Primary Academy

BWT Sports Day Champions
Brooke Weston Academy


BWT Team of the Year (primary)
Beanfield Primary School Year 3 & 4 Football Team (winner)
Compass Primary Academy Dodgeball Team (highly commended)
Gretton Primary School Year 5 & 6 Football Team (highly commended)
Oakley Vale Primary School Year 3 & 4 Girls Football Team (highly commended)
Peckover Primary School Year 5 Rugby Team (highly commended)

BWT Team of the Year (secondary)
Brooke Weston Academy Year 10 Volleyball Team (highly commended)
Corby Business Academy Year 8 Netball Team (winner)
Corby Technical School Year 9 Netball Team (highly commended)
Kettering Science Academy Year 7 B Team for Basketball (highly commended)
Thomas Clarkson Academy Year 8 Netball Team (highly commended)



More News